The Gardner Heist

The Gardner Heist

“Boser cracks the cold case of the art world’s greatest unsolved mystery.”— Vanity Fair One museum, two thieves, and the Boston underworld: the riveting story of the 1990 Gardner Museum robbery, the largest unsolved art theft in history. Perfect for fans of the Netflix series This is a Robbery: The World's Biggest Art Heist! Shortly after midnight on March 18, 1990, two men broke into the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston and committed the largest art heist in history. They stole a dozen masterpieces, including one Vermeer, three Rembrandts, and five Degas. But after thousands of leads, hundreds of interviews, and a $5 million reward, not a single painting has been recovered. Worth as much as $500 million, the missing masterpieces have become the Holy Grail of the art world and their theft one of the nation’s most extraordinary unsolved mysteries. Art detective Harold Smith worked the theft for years, and after his death, reporter Ulrich Boser decided to pick up where he left off. Traveling deep into the art underworld, Boser explores Smith’s unfinished leads and comes across a remarkable cast of characters, including a brilliant rock ‘n’ roll art thief and a golden-boy gangster who professes his innocence in rhyming verse. A tale of art and greed, of obsession and loss, The Gardner Heist is as compelling as the stolen masterpieces themselves.

GET EBOOK

Author
Publisher Harper Collins
Release Date
ISBN 006197286X
Pages 272 pages
Rating 4/5 (67 users)

More Books:

The Gardner Heist
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Ulrich Boser
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-10-06 - Publisher: Harper Collins

“Boser cracks the cold case of the art world’s greatest unsolved mystery.”— Vanity Fair One museum, two thieves, and the Boston underworld: the riveting
The Gardner Museum Heist
Language: en
Pages: 112
Authors: Michael Regan
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12-15 - Publisher: ABDO

The Gardner Museum Heistexplores all sides of this famously unsolved crime. It discusses police investigations, conspiracy theories, and more related to the big
The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
Language: en
Pages: 152
Authors: Boston, Mass. Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
Categories: Art
Type: BOOK - Published: 1995-01-01 - Publisher: Yale University Press

"This book takes you through the collection gallery by gallery, illuminating the art and installations in each room"--From preface.
Cold Cases
Language: en
Pages: 178
Authors: Cheyna Roth
Categories: True Crime
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-14 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Discover the fascinating true crime stories of JonBenét Ramsey, the Black Dahlia, the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum theft, the Amber Alert case, the Clevelan
The Memory Palace of Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Hol Art Books

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
Language: en
Pages: 205
Authors: Christina Nielsen
Categories: Art
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-01-01 - Publisher: Yale University Press

The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum is world renowned for a superb collection of over 10,000 objects that range from ancient Chinese bronzes to Renaissance tape
The Palgrave Handbook on Art Crime
Language: en
Pages: 909
Authors: Saskia Hufnagel
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-06-27 - Publisher: Springer

This handbook showcases studies on art theft, fraud and forgeries, cultural heritage offences and related legal and ethical challenges. It has been authored by
Contemporary Perspectives on the Detection, Investigation and Prosecution of Art Crime
Language: en
Pages: 290
Authors: Duncan Chappell
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-13 - Publisher: Routledge

In the world of law enforcement art and antiquity crime has in the past usually assumed a place of low interest and priority. That situation has now slowly begu
The Charlestown Mysteries:
Language: en
Pages: 592
Authors: Tom MacDonald
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-24 - Publisher: Oceanview Publishing

This two-book series is perfect for fans of Denis Lehane and fans of urban mysteries that are steeped in atmosphere—in this case—BostonDermot Sparhawk is a
Still as Death
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Sarah Stewart Taylor
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-04-01 - Publisher: Minotaur Books

Art history professor Sweeney St. George is in the middle of putting together an exhibit on her specialty, "the art of death," for the university museum when sh