Fire by Night

Fire by Night

What do we do with the Old Testament? How do we read words written in a world so different from ours, stories so ruthless and so filled with grace? In Fire by Night, pastor Melissa Florer-Bixler invites readers to marvel at the Old Testament. Page after page, in stories and poems and prophecies, the Hebrew Scripture introduces us to a God who is unwieldy and uncontrollable, common and extraordinary, and who brings both life and death. Using stories from Scripture and from her ministry, Florer-Bixler braids together the text with the sometimes ordinary, sometimes radical grace of God. The same passages that confuse and horrify and baffle us can, if we are paying attention, lure us closer toward God. This God has traveled with people through cloud and fire, by day and by night, since the beginning of time. The Old Testament is a perplexing book of profound grace, hope, and beauty. It’s a book of fire. To read the Old Testament is to draw close to God’s love, which continues to burn away our expectations and set us ablaze. This God has traveled with people through pillars of cloud and fire, by day and by night, since the days of the exodus.

GET EBOOK

Author
Publisher MennoMedia, Inc.
Release Date
ISBN 1513804200
Pages 192 pages
Rating 4/5 (00 users)

More Books:

Fire by Night
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Melissa Florer-Bixler
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-04-09 - Publisher: MennoMedia, Inc.

What do we do with the Old Testament? How do we read words written in a world so different from ours, stories so ruthless and so filled with grace? In Fire by N
Fire by Night
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Ellenore Meadows
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-01-16 - Publisher: WestBow Press

Forbidden friends since childhood, Tafne is a rich Egyptian noble and Eve is a Hebrew slave. When Eve is compelled to run away from slavery, Tafne offers her th
The Jewish Study Bible
Language: en
Pages: 2190
Authors: Adele Berlin
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

This study Bible offers readers of the Hebrew Bible a resource that is specifically tailored to meet their needs. It presents the centre of gravity of the Scrip
The Tabernacle, the Priesthood, and the Offerings
Language: en
Pages: 474
Authors: Henry William Soltau
Categories: Tabernacle
Type: BOOK - Published: 1880 - Publisher: Kregel Publications

Night of Fire
Language: en
Pages: 300
Authors: Barbara Samuel
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-12-24 - Publisher: Barbara Samuel

Night of Fire Fans of Jo Beverley, Eloisa James, and Stephanie Laurens will enjoy this intensely passionate and romantic full-length novel of star-crossed lover
Fire in the Night
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: C Smith
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-11-15 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Orde Charles Wingate. Winston Churchill thought him a military genius; others considered him greatly over-rated; a few even thought him mad. His overriding pass
The Brightest Night (Wings of Fire #5)
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Tui T. Sutherland
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03-25 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

WINGS OF FIRE comes to a thrilling conclusion in this action-packed finale! It all comes down to this: The Dragonets of Destiny must finally bring the epic war
Life-Study of Exodus
Language: en
Pages: 238
Authors: Witness Lee
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1998-07-01 - Publisher: Living Stream Ministry

Fire!
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: James Levesque
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-06 - Publisher: Chosen Books

The world has wandered so far from God that nothing short of revival will reignite the fires of awakening. But God is about to set the world ablaze, and the nat